A Review: Time to Die

5 Aug

TheDodos-Band
We’ve been posting a lot of electro tracks and obscure finds. But recently released records aren’t to be ignored.

I have had about a week to determine how I feel about the new Dodos album Time to Die (no, I didn’t grab it when it leaked). Truth is, it only took a couple tracks to realize I was underwhelmed. My tepid impression stemmed from some strange audio déjà vu, an ever-present feeling that I was about to recognize an upcoming riff or lyric. Soon, it was as though each song was slowly fading into a more frantically percussive version of Phantom Limb or an intolerable Band of Horses song.

But I guess that is what I signed up for when I clicked “Play.” Every other review can’t help but compare Time to Die to producer Phil Ek’s better projects (The Shins, Fleet Foxes). I originally figured the reviewers were simply exaggerating in order to flaunt their indie credentials. But damnit! They were all right.

Understand, the album isn’t bad. It shows The Dodos are improving with each release, and it should be noted that they are definitely more a band you go to see live.

I guess I was simply expecting more. The album just isn’t going to make much of an impact. It isn’t going to provoke you to listen over and over. It isn’t going to influence your shitty indie-folk-pop-rock-whatever band. It’s simply going to give you another few adequate songs to fill up empty silence.

The album is still streaming, so you can preview it at your leisure. Consequently, I am not going to give you a colorful description of what you’ll hear. Buy the record if you like it. Or! You could wait for something original to come out in the fall.

Fables – The Dodos

Two Medicines – The Dodos

And my favorite track from Visiter since “Fools” became associated with pseudo-Corona beer:

Ashley – The Dodos

3 Responses to “A Review: Time to Die”

  1. nonotme 08/10/2009 at 6:51 pm #

    Personally, I loved Visiter and I love Time to Die. TtD requires a little more of the listener. One must listen a bit more carefully to get the experimentation and to notice how it builds on the dodos’ previous work. Adding the vibraphone makes the musical parts meld together more, sound more like a band. That’s a big change and part of the reason it doesn’t sound the same as Visiter. Funny, but I’ve seen some reviews that complain that TtD is too similar to V. Anyway, both are great albums.

  2. Ames 08/13/2009 at 10:19 am #

    I just starting listening to Time to Die, so the jury is still out … BUT I can already tell I don’t like it as much as their DEBUT album Beware of the Maniacs, (why wasn’t that mentioned?) which is by far their best so far. So I disagree with the statement they are becoming better each album. They were raw (in a good way) and rocked it so hard on Beware of the Maniacs. I’m a big fan no matter what and really it is true you have to see them live to really appreciate how truly talented they are.

  3. chrisd 08/17/2009 at 5:17 pm #

    I’m a big fan of Beware of the Maniacs and Visiter, but I haven’t been able to get into Time to Die even after a bunch of listens. There are only 2-3 tracks that have me coming back (“This is a Business” is probably my fave). I have yet to see them live and may need to reserve judgment until after I do.

Leave a Reply

